top of page

5 Best Thai Drama Couple On-Screen | Part 1

Updated: Aug 20, 2021

I would always look for the chemistry of Thai Couple pairing when I watch Thai Dramas. Before even looking at the synopsis, I would look at the poster of the lakorn. And if I like the main leads just by the visuals, I’d give it a go. Sometimes, posters could be telling if it’s a good drama, in my opinion, and for the most part, it worked for me.


But, I would also be drawn to the story of the drama first regardless of what the poster was. It just so happened that the main leads turned out to have incredible chemistry. It would be quite surprising for me because I wasn’t really familiar with Thai actors and actresses at the time.


And, I would just want to mention how awful synopsis are written some popular streaming sites. I appreciate your hard work guys, no hate here. I’m just saying. There are really good dramas and because of the poorly written synopsis, people doubt if they’d give one a go or not. I would read feedback the comment section, yeah, that’s how I know.


Okay, back to it… Every time I would watch a Thai lakorn that I really like, I would fall in love with the main lead for the most part. Let me just say that this list is according to my own preference that is why I included MY in the title of this blog. Anyway, let’s get right to it.


To me, here are 5 best Thai couples that I think have that undeniable chemistry onscreen:


Sean and Esther (SeanEst)

Sean and Esther in Leh Ratree

The second Thai drama series I watched starred Sean Jindachot and Esther Supreeleela in the lakorn entitled, “Ngao Asoke.” It was basically a story of a young girl who had this big crush on this handsome guy who was obviously years older than her. He was engaged, but that didn’t stop her from adoring him. It’s not that she wanted to get in between, something just happened that made her look up to him.


That young girl ended up taken cared by the family of the guy’s fiancé. The guy also struggled with his relationship with his controlling him. After his father died, he left his mom and studied in the US.


While in an LDR relationship with his fiancé, he and his fiancé would exchange letters. But, unknown to him, his fiancé actually had the young girl write to him. So, it was basically them exchanging letters. Years later, they would meet again and it wasn’t too pleasant at all. Haha. It was actually funny and entertaining.


Their chemistry from the get go was just too good. They could just stand next to each other and you would feel that tension between them. And both could do drama and comedy.


Esther has that cute innocent smile and she’s very charming as well. Sean, on the other hand, is more of that dark, handsome, and overpowering man that is all about business but still softens up when it comes to the woman he loves.


Ngao Asoke was a drama but it had more comedic scenes than Leh Ratree. I liked this pairing so much that after watching Ngao Asoke, I searched for another SeanEst drama, hence, Leh Ratree. Yeah, their fans call their Koojin (love team) SeanEst!


Leh Ratree was even more lit. Esther played the role of a young girl who was forced to marry a rich man, played by Sean, to pay her father’s debt. The contract marriage plot was so good as well. Sean was very commanding, like if he wanted her, he wanted her, and Esther would try so hard to resist him but he was just too much to handle for her.


I read that because of the success of this drama, which was basically their first drama together, they paired in more projects including Ngao Asoke. They are quite playful to each other as well. And let me just insert this, Sean does good kissing scenes, and him and Esther looked natural in those intimate scenes. Their kissing scenes are not that much but it’s just enough and not like a mere peck kiss.


This is a sweet couple. I heard Sean adored her, but she wasn’t really up for it. They never dated. Yep. Too bad. But I love them as on screen couple. I hope they could do another drama.


Kimberley and James

James Ma and Kimberley woltemas when a man loves a woman

Kimberley Woltemas and James Ma! I instantly fell in love with these two in the drama, When a Man Loves a Woman. He looked a bit Chinese (I read that he is half-Chinese) and she looked a bit western. Kim obviously has that foreign blood in here. But, anyway, it worked fine for both.


Kim was so gorgeous in that Thai drama. She played an heir and was running their company. She was that tough boss nobody wanted to mess around with. In that series, she never cared dating guys because she thought they were just after her money, well, not until she met James. He played a noble doctor. He was quite the virtuous man.


Their first meeting was in an island and it was quite interesting. They met again only for her to find out that he was her debtor. His mom owed her company millions and he was going to pay for it. Her first impression on him just went from 100 to 0. Hahah!


His mom and her aunt connived to get them married, just so he would clear his debt. A lot happened in between, you can check out my video on this to get the full synopsis. But, the two got married and it was very awkward. She hated him because of how he turned out to be, and he hated her for her foul mouth and difficult attitude.


James was so sweet and gentle to her, but he would tease her at times. Her self-control was always on point though, but when she put her heart out, she would catch him off guard with random kisses. These two were a sweet couple. A total on screen eye candy.


It’s kind of hard to believe that they can portray such a very lovey dovey couple and they’re like very close friends in real life. He is single but she has Mark Prin. There’s that, but it’s okay. Ouch! Haha…


IMO, Kim can actually do good kiss scenes. But you know Channel 3, they’re a bit conservative when it comes to intimate scenes. You won’t see much than hugging, sniffing (hahaha), or light kissing. But I’s okay as the story is good anyway.


Their chemistry is so lit that it’s a no-brainer for Channel 3 to pair them again in the upcoming drama, Song Sanaeha. It is yet to air in 2020.


Weir and Min (WeirMin)


Min Pechaya and Weir Sukollawat WeirMin

These two are on the top of my list in romantic comedies. Their fans, including myself, call their Koo Jin WeirMin. But both are really good as individual actors. They’re too flexible with both drama and comedy, and that’s probably the best thing that I liked about them.


And if you want the whole package of a romance drama, this is the perfect Thai onscreen couple. The two does a little upgrade in intimate scenes, these two don’t fake it. Weir Sukollawat is known to not fake kissing scenes. These two had 3 dramas together and Min Pechaya knew that for a fact in their very first drama, Pin Anong. I haven’t watched it yet, but I read comments that they found it uncanny that the drama had kissing scenes different from what they accustomed to in Thai Dramas.


In most of their dramas, Weir just loved to advance himself to her and tease her. Min would resist him with all of her strength, I mean, she wasn’t always the typical sweet heroine in most of their lakorns together. She was a badass herself. But he just knew how to tame her.


Their sweet and/or intimate scenes were not awkward to look at. If he was good at it, she was equally there with him as well. Out of all the Thai actresses in lakorns I have watched in, Min is at the solo top for being such a natural with romantic scenes, kissing scenes for the most part. But, I could threw in Baifern Pimchanok in there, I’m just a bit bias since Min is my fave. Peace!


They are from channel 7 and this channel seems to not be that conservative as Channel 3 when it comes to kiss scenes. But the scenes are not like those kdramas these days, don’t get me wrong. It’s pretty decent for a love story.


I first watched them in the comedy Thai series, Lah Ruk Sut Kob Fah. Min’s family business got bankrupt and Weir’s father, who was the BFF of Min’s late father, came to the rescue. But Min’s mom didn’t want to accept such a big monetary help without giving something in return. Weir’s dad’s only request was to tame his lazy and womanizer son, played by Weir. Min would agree to an arranged marriage to straighten him up.


Min was naturally pretty on TV with light make up on and Weir is the definition of that tall dark and handsome. Both not only complimented on their looks, but also on their acting and chemistry together. They just make it seem so easy onscreen that its hard to believe they never dated. It's just a testament on how successful their pairing was doing 3 hit dramas together.


Pope Thanawat and Bella Ranee Campen

Pope and Bella Bpoop Phaeh Saniwaat Love Destiny

Does Bpoop Phaeh Saniwaat or Love Destiny ring a bell? It was so huge in 2018. I actually watched it mid of 2018 and I became a huge fan, so much that I flew to Ayutthaya to experience the Bpoop Phaeh Saniwaat feels. I was able to visit that famous temple you’d always see in that lakorn.


Anyway, Pope Thanawat and Bella Campen didn’t have to do anything but look at each other and smile. That’s it! It may sound that I am exaggerating, but watch the drama yourself. It’s a historical romantic comedy drama full of laughter! The Thai drama was too big of a hit that there will be a sequel which will began shooting in 2020. And the success of Pope and Bella pairing earned them another drama together for Roy Leh Mar Nya.


I guess nobody in Thailand saw it coming. Pope and Bella were definitely the most popular celebrity in 2018. Correct me if I’m wrong, Bella became a top endorser after that. Both were not as big as Channel 3's big names like Nadech, Yaya, Mark Prin, or Kimberley, but because of this drama their popularity just struck gold. People in Thailand love them, big thanks to Bpoop Phae Saniwaat!


Actors usually find intimate scenes uncomfortable with all eyes of the staff watching you make out with someone you’re not even in love with, yikes! Pope and Bella are so blessed that they didn’t have to do much for their chemistry to work. It seemed like a built-in somewhere in between them.


This Thai pairing is so lit! Love Destiny, though not my first Lakorn, is my top 1 favorite Thai drama series. Bella was so good in comedy, and Pope just fed off to that romantic vibe in them. With him chasing after her but hiding his true feelings at the same time was romantically the cutest thing ever.


Yaya Sperbund and Mark Prin

Yaya and Mark in Kluen Cheewit

The first Thai drama I watched featured the stunning Thai superstar, Yaya Spernund, and the equally good looking, Mark Prin. I was drawn to watching the drama just by a clip from the whole series. They were both undeniably good looking, but their chemistry was off the roof as well.


I am just frustrated that after Kluen Cheewit, there is still no Mark and Yaya drama, I mean, come on, Channel 3! You know these two look absolutely good together. The tension between them, I just couldn’t get enough of their first drama. Give us more of them!


I read in a forum, there was this Thai fan who said that it maybe because this pairing is a big threat to Nadech and Yaya Koo Jin. The reception from the fan for Mark and Yaya’s pairing was so good that it could potentially threaten Nadech-Yaya pair. It was further said that Nadech had connections in Channel 3 and they were doing their best to block any potential Mark-Yaya project.


I don’t know if that’s true or what, I don’t mean any hate whatsoever. I just hope this is not true. Nadech and Yaya has had tons of projects together, give it to Mark and Yaya this time, just saying.


Kluen Cheewit was aired in 2017, and I believed it was a success. And even when it was, there had not been any drama from these two since then. Ouch!


I just couldn’t get enough with this two. In their drama series, it was only in the later part where they progressed to really bringing them together. The build-up of the story was good, don’t get me wrong. I just felt like there could have been more for these two.


Chemistry-wise, I prefer Yaya with Mark. She looks great with Nadech, but I know I’m also pretty bias as a huge fan of Kluen Cheewit, but, Channel 3, please don’t put this pairing in the backburner.

For complete synopsis and other details about the Thai dramas which starred the best Thai couple onscreen mentioned above, WATCH HERE. Don't forget to LIKE the video and SUBSCRIBE to our YouTube Channel! You can find more videos in our video directory.


How about you? Which Thai couple pairing are you a big fan of? Leave down your comments below.


bottom of page